Back to top

Cornell Nutrition Conference 2020 Awards

Students Awarded During 82nd Annual Cornell Nutrition Conference

Three Animal Science graduate students received awards during the 2020 Cornell Nutrition Conference. Held virtually this year due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the Cornell Nutrition Conference provides industry leading research and information across the spectrum of animal nutrition to feed industry professionals and nutritional consultants.  

Leonard A. Maynard Graduate Award

Established in 1988, the Leonard A. Maynard Graduate Award is presented to graduate students with a nutrition-related program in the Department of Animal Science and have exhibited outstanding graduate performance.  This year’s recipients are Kasey Schalich and William “Billy” Myers.  

Kasey Schalich and William Myers receive the Maynard Graduate Award from Dr. Tom Overton.

Schalich is a PhD candidate working with Dr. Vimal Selvaraj.  Her research program focuses on methods to more comprehensively characterize the bovine serum proteome as well as to more fully understand colostrum formation in the mammary gland and absorption of IgG by the neonatal calf.

Myers is a PhD candidate working with Dr. Joseph McFadden.  His research program focuses on understanding metabolism of choline and trimethylamine-N-oxide in the dairy cow.


Charlie Sniffen Graduate Student Award

Now in its fourth year, the Charlie Sniffen Graduate Student Award is a partnership between Kemin Animal Nutrition and Health – North America, Cornell University and William H. Miner Agricultural Research Institute honoring the longtime dairy industry research leader. Throughout his career, including his time Cornell University and as a scientific advisor to Kemin, Dr. Sniffen published more than 100 peer-reviewed industry journal articles, over 140 abstracts and more than 400 trade publication articles focused on dairy nutrition.  The award honors students that exemplify Dr. Sniffen’s leadership in conducting and communicating impactful research.

Andrew LaPierre, a PhD candidate working with Dr. Michael Van Amburgh, has been selected at the 2020 recipient.   LaPierre’s research program focuses on amino acid requirements of lactating dairy cattle, an area of critical importance to the dairy industry.

Andrew LaPierre receives the 2020 Charlie Sniffen Graduate Award from Dr. Michael Van Amburgh.